Best Buy My Electronics Elsewhere

Last week, I thought the media had two low points for women. One, Miss Ohio saying Pretty Woman shows a positive role model for women. Two, The New York Times erasing female programmers from history. In case you missed it, NYT opened an article about Ellen Pao, a partner at a venture capital firm who is suing her company for sexual harassment, with the sentence “MEN invented the Internet.” I am not alone in being disturbed by this, and my favorite response is by Xeni Jardin.

I bring this up because the whole issue of people with a Y chromosome inventing the Internet single-handedly reminded me of a recent Best Buy commercial that similarly disturbs me.

The commercial shows a few people with a Y chromosome stating their contributions to smartphones and ends with a blond with no Y chromosome inviting you to find your ideal smartphone at Best Buy. Before, I couldn’t put my finger on the reason why I didn’t like the commercial, but now I realize that the commercial is also erasing female developers.

I can understand what Best Buy meant to do with the commercial. Seeing people who have created amazing things is meant to be inspiring. Best Buy is presented as a place that gives us access to these marvels. But I am not inspired by this commercial. Instead, I am disappointed that Best Buy is perpetuating the myth that only people with a Y chromosome have the talent to create technology.

It may not seem like a big deal, because people obviously know that there are women in tech… right? But it is a big deal because the media, advertising included, shapes how we see the world. Case in point, when I brought it up to my boyfriend, who is a software developer, he told me that if only 1 in 100 programmers are women (his estimate, not an accurate statistic), then I can’t expect Best Buy to go out of their way to include a female developer in their commercial. In other words, it’s okay for women to be invisible because in that field they are pretty much non-existent. Except they are not.

I know that in most cases the role of advertising is not to change the world. It is to build brands. But I think that challenging the status quo when it comes to the visibility of women in certain fields would shine a positive light on brands. It would score points with women who feel they are no longer ignored.

Do you think brands can benefit from challenging the status quo?

This entry was posted in Branding, Marketing, & Advertising and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

